Former Commissioner Information


The following is a chronological listing of the voting members who have served on the United States Sentencing Commission from its inception. Following each commissioner's name is the time period for which the commissioner served and, in parentheses, the position held immediately prior to appointment with the Commission.

  • Judge William W. Wilkins, Jr., Chair, 1985-1994
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, District of South Carolina)
  • Judge (later Justice) Stephen G. Breyer, 1985-1989
    (Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, First Circuit)
  • Judge George E. MacKinnon, 1985-1991
    (Senior Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, D.C. Circuit)
  • Ilene H. Nagel, 1985-1994
    (Professor of Law and Sociology, Indiana University School of Law)
  • Helen G. Corrothers, 1985-1991
    (Member, U.S. Parole Commission)
  • Michael K. Block, 1985-1989
    (Professor of Law and Economics, University of Arizona)
  • Paul H. Robinson, 1985-1988
    (Professor of Law, Rutgers Law School)
  • Judge A. David Mazzone, 1990-1996; Vice Chair, 1994-1996
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts)
  • Judge Julie E. Carnes, 1990-1996
    (Assistant U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Georgia)
  • Michael S. Gelacak, 1990-1998; Vice Chair, 1994-1998
    (Attorney, McNair Firm, Washington, D.C.)
  • Judge Richard P. Conaboy, Chair, 1994-1998
    (Senior Judge, U.S. District Court, Middle District of Pennsylvania)
  • Judge Deanell R. Tacha, 1994-1998
    (Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit)
  • Michael Goldsmith, 1994-1998; Vice Chair, 1995-1998
    (Professor of Law, Brigham Young University Law School)
  • Wayne A. Budd, 1994-1997
    (Attorney, Goodwin, Procter & Hoar, Boston, Massachusetts)
  • Judge Joe Kendall, 1999-2002
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas)
  • Judge Sterling Johnson, Jr., 1999-2002
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York)
  • Judge Diana E. Murphy, Chair, 1999-2004
    (Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit)
  • Professor Michael E. O’Neill, 1999-2005
    (Assistant Professor, George Mason University School of Law)
  • John R. Steer, Vice Chair, 1999-2007
    (General Counsel, U.S. Sentencing Commission)
  • Michael E. Horowitz, 2003-2008
    (Partner, Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, Washington, D.C.)
  • Judge William K. Sessions III, 1999-2010; Chair, 2009-2010; Vice Chair, 1999-2009
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, District of Vermont)
  • Judge Ruben Castillo, Vice Chair, 1999-2010
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois)
  • Judge Beryl A. Howell, 2004-2012
    (Executive Managing Director and General Counsel, Stroz Friedberg, LLC, Washington, DC)
  • William B. Carr, Jr., Vice Chair, 2008-2012
    (Adjunct Professor of Law, Widener Law School, Wilmington, DE)
  • Judge Ricardo H. Hinojosa, 2004-2014; Chair, 2005-2008; Acting Chair, 2009; Vice Chair, 2011-2014
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas)
  • Ketanji Brown Jackson, Vice Chair, 2010-2014
    (Of Counsel, Morrison & Foerster LLP, Washington, D.C.)
  • Judge Dabney L. Friedrich, 2006-2016
    (Associate Counsel, Office of Counsel to the President, Washington, D.C.)
  • Judge Patti B. Saris, Chair, 2010-2016
    (Judge, U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts)
  • Circuit Judge William H. Pryor Jr., 2013-2018; Acting Chair, 2017-2018
    (Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit)
  • Rachel E. Barkow, 2013-2018
    (Segal Family Professor of Regulatory Law and Policy, New York University School of Law)
  • Judge Danny C. Reeves, 2017-2021
    (Judge U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Kentucky)
  • Judge Charles R. Breyer, 2016-2021; Vice Chair, 2013-2016; Acting Chair, 2021-2022
    (Senior Judge, U.S. District Court, Northern District of California)