

January 3, 2016

United States Sentencing Commission Office of Legislative & Public Affairs One Columbus Circle NE Suite 2-500 Washington, DC 20002-8002

CIRCUIT JUDGE WILLIAM H. PRYOR NAMED ACTING CHAIR OF COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The United States Sentencing Commission announced that Circuit Judge William H. Pryor, Jr. will serve as Acting Chair of the Commission, as the term of the former Chair, Chief Judge Patti B. Saris expired at the end of the 114th congressional session.

In his first statement as Acting Chair, Judge Pryor of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals said, "I am honored to act as Acting Chair of the Commission and commend the exemplary leadership of Chief Judge Saris during her term. I look forward to our continued work to further the Commission's critical mission of developing federal sentencing policies that further the goals of the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984."

The terms of Judge Charles R. Breyer (former Vice Chair) and Commissioner Dabney L. Friedrich also expired. By statute, commissioners are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate, and serve up to two six-year terms. At least three of the commissioners must be federal judges and no more than four may belong to the same political party. Remaining commissioners include Commissioner Rachel E. Barkow, Commissioner J. Patricia Wilson Smoot (*ex-officio, U.S. Parole Commission*), and Commissioner Michelle Morales (*ex-officio, U.S. Department of Justice*). The Commission must have at least four voting commissioners for a quorum.

Contact: Christine Leonard, Director, Office of Legislative and Public Affairs <u>cleonard@ussc.gov</u> | 202-502-4519

###