Minutes of the October 9, 1998, United States Sentencing Commission Business Meeting

Chairman Richard P. Conaboy convened the meeting via telephone at 11:12 a.m. Chairman Conaboy, Commissioners Michael Goldsmith and Deanell R. Tacha, and Ex Officio Commissioner Mary F. Harkenrider participated via telephone. Vice Chairman Michael S. Gelacak, Interim Staff Director Timothy B. McGrath, General Counsel John R. Steer, and Principal Technical Advisor Judith Sheon were present in the Commissioners' Conference room.

Motion made by Commissioner Tacha to approve the minutes of the September 17, 1998, business meeting; seconded by Commissioner Goldsmith. Passed unanimously

On behalf of the Commission, Chairman Conaboy thanked the Telemarketing Fraud Policy Team for their work on the Telemarketing Fraud Report, which was required pursuant to the Telemarketing Fraud Prevention Act of 1998. The Policy Team members included Mary Didier, Chair, Kevin Blackwell, Cynthia Matthews, Brandi Moore, Sandra Murray, and Krista Rubin.

Motion made by Commissioner Tacha to send, with some minor technical changes, the Telemarketing Fraud Report to Congress; seconded by Commissioner Goldsmith. Passed unanimously.

Motion made by Commissioner Tacha to publish in the *Federal Register* that the promulgated telemarketing fraud amendments will be made permanent amendments; seconded by Commissioner Goldsmith. Passed unanimously.

Interim Staff Director McGrath., briefing the Commission of the No Electronic Theft Policy Team, stated that a policy team, chaired by Ken Cohen, has been established and will operate under a 60-day time frame. An interim report will be presented to the Commission on November 9, with a final report due to the Commission on Dec 7, 1998. This report is to describe the characteristics and history of the sentencing guidelines for intellectual property, the legislative history and requirements of the No Electronic Theft Act, proposed amendment options, with explanations of how they fulfill the goals of sentencing, and a summary of public comment received.

Motion made by Commissioner Goldsmith to obtain a consensus on moving forward with an Employment Dispute Resolution Plan for the Commission; seconded by Commissioner Tacha. Passed unanimously.

Chairman Conaboy adjourned the meeting at 11:27 a.m.