

UNITED STATES SENTENCING COMMISSION
SYMPOSIUM ON ECONOMIC CRIME
SEPTEMBER 18–19, 2013
JOHN JAY COLLEGE OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
NEW YORK, NY

## **SPEAKER BIOGRAPHIES**

**Jennifer H. Arlen** is the Norma Z. Paige Professor of Law at the New York University School of Law.

**Miriam Baer** is an assistant professor of law at Brooklyn Law School.

**Hon. Rachel E. Barkow** is a commissioner on the United States Sentencing Commission and the Segal Family Professor of Regulatory Law and Policy at the New York University School of Law.

**Neil M. Barofsky** is an adjunct professor of law at New York University School of Law, and a senior research fellow at NYU Law's Center on the Administration of Criminal Law.

**Hon.** Charles R. Breyer is a vice chair of the United States Sentencing Commission, and a senior United States district judge for the Northern District of California.

**Russell P. Butler** is the chair of the United States Sentencing Commission's Victims Advisory Group and the executive director of the Maryland Crime Victims' Resource Center.

**Michael Caruso** is the federal public defender for the Southern District of Florida.

**Steven L. Chanenson** is the chair of the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing and a professor of law at Villanova University School of Law.

**David Debold** is the chair of the United States Sentencing Commission's Practitioners Advisory Group, and a partner at the law firm of Gibson Dunn.

**James E. Felman** is the co-chair of the ABA's Committee on Sentencing and a partner at Kynes, Markman & Felman, P.A. in Tampa, Florida.

Hon. Dabney L. Friedrich is a commissioner on the United States Sentencing Commission.

**Meg Garvin** is the executive director of the National Crime Victim Law Institute, and clinical professor of law at Lewis and Clark Law School in Portland, Oregon.

**Hon. J. Phil Gilbert** is a United States district judge for the Southern District of Illinois.

**Kathleen Cooper Grilli** is a deputy general counsel at the United States Sentencing Commission.

**Hon.** Melinda Haag is the United States attorney for the Northern District of California.

**Hon. Ricardo H. Hinojosa** is a vice chair of the United States Sentencing Commission, and the chief United States district judge for the Southern District of Texas.

**Hon. Ketanji B. Jackson** is a vice chair of the United States Sentencing Commission, and a United States district judge for the District of Columbia.

**Hon. Gerard E. Lynch** is a United States circuit judge for the Second Circuit Court of Appeals.

**Ellen S. Podgor** is the Gary R. Trombley Family White-Collar Crime Research Professor and professor of law at Stetson University Law School.

**Hon.** William H. Pryor, Jr. is a commissioner on the United States Sentencing Commission and a United States circuit judge for the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals.

**Hon. Loretta A. Preska** is the chief judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York.

**Hon. Patti B. Saris** is the chair of the United States Sentencing Commission, and the chief United States district judge for the District of Massachusetts.

**Courtney Semisch,** Ph.D., is a senior research associate at the United States Sentencing Commission.

**Jeremy Travis** is the president of John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

**Shanna R. Van Slyke** is an assistant professor of criminal justice at Utica College's School of Economic Crime and Justice Studies.

**Hon. Jonathan J. Wroblewski** is the designated *ex officio* member of the United States Sentencing Commission representing the Department of Justice and is the director of the Office of Policy and Legislation in the Criminal Division of the Department of Justice.