INTRODUCTION TO THE GUIDELINES

This is a basic introduction the guidelines training session. The scenarios were written
for those with little to no guideline knowledge.

1. The Grand Jury charges that: On or about December 16, 2015, in the Southern District
of Minnesota, the defendants,

Nelson Hugo and Ken Savage,

Each aiding and abetting the other, did, by force, violence, and intimidation, take from the
victim teller approximately $17,078.51 in United States currency belonging to Affinity Plus
Federal Credit Union in Mankato, Minnesota. The deposits were insured by the National Credit
Union Administration, and in committing such offense, did assault and put in jeopardy, the life
of another person by the use of a dangerous weapon, a handgun, in violation of Title 18, United
States Code, Sections 2113(a) and 2113(d).

What is the Chapter Two Guideline?

2. What is the amount of loss for Hugo?

3. What is the amount of loss for Savage?

4. Is defendant Hugo responsible for the firearm? Why or Why not?
5. Is defendant Savage responsible for the firearm? Why or Why not?
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6. How many criminal history points?

Arrest Date Charge /Docket# Date/Sent. Imposed
08/10/2011 Possession of Heroin 10/25/11: Pled guilty
(Age 23) Hennepin County 1 year DOC
District Court Sentence suspended,
Minneapolis, MN serve 60 days jail and

2 years probation

7. How many criminal history points?

Arrest Date Charge/Docket# Date/Sent. Imposed
04/06/11 Possession of Firearm 09/21/11: Pled guilty,
(Age 47) in the Commission of 1 day jail time served
a Felony followed by 24
Ramsey County months probation
District Court
St. Paul, MN

8. How many criminal history points?

Arrest Date Charge /Docket# Date/Sent. Imposed
01/27/03 Assault Causing 02/26/03: 6 months
(Age 16) Bodily Injury to a probation

Family Member

Wichita Falls County

Court, Wichita Falls,

TX

9. How many criminal history points?

Arrest Date Charge /Docket# Date/Sent. Imposed
12/30/08 Arson 08/18/09: Pled guilty,
(Age 27), Scott County District 12 months to five

Court, Shakopee, MN years custody



