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Sentencing Context:  
Like other states, Delaware has its own sentencing procedures for juveniles not 
amenable to Family Court processes and programs (transfer mechanisms).

Eighteen is Age of Majority …

Original Jurisdiction: By Statute, Homicide, Rape 1st , Rape 2nd, and 
Kidnapping 1st are by law originally filed in Superior instead of Family Court.

Repeat: By Statute, 16 year olds with a prior felony adjudication charged 
with Conspiracy 1st, Rape 3rd, Assault 1st,  Arson 1st, Burglary 1st, Robbery 1st or 
Drug Trafficking are by law originally filed in Superior instead of Family Court

Discretionary:  Prosecutors may request that juveniles not amenable to the 
juvenile rehabilitative process be referred to Superior Court. 

Reverse Amenability:  Many cases can be reversed, i.e., remanded back 
from Superior to Family Court.

Youthful Offender Program: DOC operates the YCOP for juveniles 
sentenced in Superior Court. 



Social Context:
As with all sentencing policy, juvenile transfers to the adult judicial system is 
subject to strong, and sometimes adversarial, differences of opinion. 

A few of the issues involved include: 

Public Safety: Violent and repetitive behavior on the part 
of older juveniles.

Quality of Programs: The availability and success of 
juvenile rehabilitation programs and our ability to place and 
monitor juveniles makes a difference in the legal path selected.

Emotional maturity and culpability of juveniles.

Fidelity to the philosophy of parens patriae.



Research Context:  
Research in this intense policy area is difficult.

A few of the issues involved include: 

The topic is hot:                                                  
Where do you find a neutral research partner?

The data is a mess:                                                          
“Transfer Juveniles” touch police, prosecution, Family Court, 
Superior Court, Mental Health services, and sometimes both the 
juvenile and adult facilities.  The information in these systems is 
recorded differently, if at all, and much of it is not linked. 

Opposing advocates aren’t always comfortable with 
research results.   How do we manage the debate?



The Issue 
In reaction to a spike in urban juvenile armed robberies, a “last minute           

-- get tough” section was added to a complex sentencing bill (HB210). 

HB 210 became law in July 2003.

Robbery 1st Degree and Assault 1st Degree became 
“Original Jurisdiction” cases in Superior Court instead 
of “repeat” transfer cases.

There was no lower age limit on HB210 juvenile 
cases.

As adults the minimum term for Robbery 1st cases is 3 
years; for Assault 1st , it’s 2 years.

For reverse amenability cases the minimum is 1 year 
juvenile incarceration if case includes a deadly 
weapon. 



The Process
Juvenile amenability issues are very intensely contested from different 
points of view.

At least three committees reviewed the new HB 210 
juvenile provisions.

The House Judiciary Committee gradually became 
the committee of focus.  

Expected advocacy took place. 

Material and experiences from other states were 
presented.  Each state’s juvenile transfer laws and 
experiences are so unique that little was gained.

Preliminary, unsubstantiated statistics provided by 
advocates held little credibility.  



The Process … What We Learned
The Delaware Statistical Analysis Center was charged by HB 210 to 
monitor implementation of the law. 

60% of the HB210 cases did not stay in Superior Court

For 26% of the cases, prosecutors agreed to 
lesser charges at a preliminary hearing and these 
cases were processed only in Family Court. 

34 % were reverse amenability cases that came 
back to Family Court for disposition. 

40% of the cases remained in Superior Court. 



The Process … What We Learned

HB210 cases processed strictly in Family Court were 
detained for less than a month before case disposition.

Cases that were reverse amenability cases were detained 
for an average of 5.6 months prior to disposition. 

Cases remaining is Superior Court were detained 7.2 
months prior to disposition. 



The Process … What We Learned
After July 2003: The Superior Court population increased in the Juvenile 
institutions, especially “original jurisdiction” cases.
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The Process … What We Learned
The closer to 17 years old, the chance of “going adult” for Robbery 
1st and Assault 1st.   Younger offenders rarely go.
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The Outcome … What We Changed

Senate Bill 2000 passed in June, 2005

Original Jurisdiction for HB 210 cases is 
now limited to:

Robbery 1st juvenile defendants that

a) Have a prior felony adjudication                
and

b) Commit a Robbery were the deadly 
weapon is displayed or serious injury 
is inflicted as part of the crime.



The Outcome … What we are changing
A better balance for Justice and reduced cost
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